by Shawna

January 10, 2021

A Beginner’s Guide to Chakras

You may have heard about them, but do you really know what chakras are? Chakra is a Sanskrit word which translates literally into ‘wheel’. There are circular vortexes of energy that exist throughout the entire universe; but more specifically, within your body, you have seven major chakras that act as vortexes of energy. They are often compared to energy gates through which various energy flows.

What Is a Chakra Blockage?

When chakras become out of balance or blocked, ailments, health disorders and other problems can occur. Chakra blockage may be the result of physical, mental, emotional or spiritual stress among other sources. By meditating, doing some yoga or through other means, chakra blockage can be resolved, allowing for optimal health and well-being. Can you think of reasons why your chakras would be blocked? Think about various hardships you’ve been facing with your emotional and physical health; do you think these could be linked to your chakras?

How Do I Know My Chakra System is Optimal?

The chakra system is optimal when all your seven chakras are balanced and open. Each one of the seven main chakras is related to a specific part of the human body; the crown at the top of your head, the third eye just above the mid-part between your eyes, the throat chakra, the heart chakra, the solar plexus located right under your chest, the sacral chakra close to your belly button, and the root chakra at the groin.

Root Chakra

The root chakra is associated with the color red. This chakra is located at the base of your spine. The symptoms of the blocked root chakra include that you have low energy, low self-esteem, that you are dealing with constipation and fatigue, and that you are in an unsafe emotional state. After you undergo chakra self-healing, you will feel more confident, full of energy and feeling ready to live, will feel safe and balanced and will feel physically well.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is associated with the color orange. This chakra is located between the navel and pubic bone, in the middle of your abdomen. The symptoms of the blocked sacral chakra include having a hard time finding solutions to everyday problems, losing creativity, feelings of despair, and having low sexuality or dealing with infertility. However, when healing this chakra, you will notice that you begin having more new ideas and that you feel able to create the life you want. You will also feel more peaceful and calm, and will have a more normal sex drive. Finally, you may notice that you are more able to accept change.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is associated with the color yellow. This chakra is located in your upper abdomen, between your breastbone and your  navel. The symptoms of the blocked solar plexus chakra include a lack of willpower, difficulty finishing everyday tasks, helplessness and anger, and poor digestion. By fixing this through self-healing, you will begin to see yourself becoming more organized, will begin to feel as though you can accomplish your dreams, will enjoy feeling more courageous and will have a general feeling of being freer than previously.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is associated with the color green. This chakra is located in the middle of your chest. The symptoms of the blocked heart chakra include that you may feel unloved or unappreciated, may feel heartbroken or let down by others, may notice that your relationships are becoming more broken or hard to change for the better, and finally, may be unable to express love in ways that you usually successfully do so. However, by fixing this through self healing, you will notice that you feel much more loved,  will also feel that you are more loving and you may find more pleasure in your relationships. Finally, you will be able to feel more love for yourself and will begin to accept yourself as you are.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is associated with the color azure blue.  This chakra is located at the base of your throat. The symptoms of a blocked throat chakra include that you may be fearful of speaking your personal truth, may feel that you have a harder time expressing your thoughts and may feel anxious about speaking or communicating. Furthermore, you may also experience some of the following physical symptoms:

  • a raspy throat
  • chronic sore throat
  • mouth ulcers
  • gum disease
  • laryngitis
  • thyroid challenges
  • temporomandibular joint (TMJ) disorders

Once you have unblocked your throat chakra, you may feel a relief of those symptoms while also feeling more confident to share your perspectives and opinions.

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is associated with the color indigo. This chakra is located in the middle of your forehead, between your eyebrows. The symptoms of a blocked Third Eye chakra include confusion, indecisiveness, headaches, depression, and poor insights. However, by unblocking this chakra, you will begin to notice that you feel much more comfortable when solving your own problems. You may also feel calmer and will feel ready to release your obsessions and stop focusing on them for an unhealthy amount. You will also be able to connect with your God more naturally and effortlessly.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is associated with the color violet. This chakra is located at the top of your head. The symptoms of a blocked crown chakra include loneliness, depression, anxiety, apathy, poor sleeping habits, and a difficulty to meditate deeply. These can be very overwhelming feelings to be dealing with, therefore making sure to self-heal this blockage will allow you to feel much more at peace. You will also feel more spiritually balanced and transcendent.

Hopefully, this short introduction was helpful in providing all the information needed regarding your chakras! Although a new topic to some, it holds very old traditions. Why not try a chakra-related activity today?

Shawna Maleski

A psychic medium, tarot lover, and forever in love with kindness, compassion and spirituality. Providing healing, empowerment, guidance and messages from the spirit world.